Historical Log Cabin Inspiration

Seeing as it’s Log Cabin week on the cool cottons blog, we thought we’d share a bit of Log Cabin inspiration from the Quilt Index Archives.  We’ve blogged about the Quilt Index before, but if you’re not yet familiar, QI is an incredible resource for all types of quilters.  Through the Quilt Index, you can search for historical quilts by pattern, origin, color, era, and culture.

Barn Raising Log Cabin c. 1880. Image via Quilt Index

One of the amazing things about the basic Log Cabin block is just how different the finished quilt can look depending on the colors, contrast, and layout.  Many more historical Log Cabin quilts after the jump.

Handpieced Log Cabin c. early 1900s via Quilt Index

Courthouse steps c. late 1800s via Quilt Index

Straight Furrows c. early 1900s via Quilt Index

Barn Raising c. late 1800s via Quilt Index

You can find hundreds and hundreds of historical quilts through the Quilt Index.  When you’re in need of inspiration, there’s nothing better than having lots of source images.

(And remember: commenting on the blog between now and March 31st means you’re automatically entered into the Modern Log Cabin Quilting book giveaway.  Be sure to let us know what you think about this post!)

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Historical Log Cabin Inspiration

  1. I think my “farmhouse” needs a big gorgeous log cabin quilt on the bed! Thanks for hosting this giveaway! I can’t wait to come down to Portland again and stop by…

  2. elsa says:

    beautiful quilts! especially like the Barn Raising log cabin!

  3. kelli says:

    Those are so beautiful! I love the contrasting larger pattern — it’s like the photos made up of little photos. Just makes you want to get closer.

  4. Carol W says:

    My friend Elsa gave me the new log cabin quilt book yesterday for my birthday. I am so lucky and excited.

  5. Mary T. says:

    My friend is getting better. Can’t wait to see if I win the book.

  6. Joycelyn says:

    These log cabin quilts are stunning! Thanks for the info about the QI.

  7. Marika says:

    I need to win that book so I can make a big log cabin quilt, those are all so cool looking. Good to know about the quilt index.

  8. Pingback: MLCQ book tour – week 1! « Modern Log Cabin Quilting

  9. Pingback: MLCQ book tour – week 1! « West Coast Crafty

  10. sequink says:

    OK. Quilt index rocks. Thanks for the info.

  11. Ellen Ban says:

    Thanks for the Quilt Index source – hadn’t seen it before!

  12. Chris says:

    great examples of beautiful log cabin varieties
    Off to look at the quilt index
    Chris x

  13. Diane says:

    HOW does one decide which Log Cabin to make?

  14. wordygirl says:

    These historic quilts look so modern to me. I love them! Thanks for sharing.

  15. Lisa says:

    The Quilt Index has provided tremendous inspiration…thanks for sharing this quilt. I really like the orange bits in it ~ so happy. ~~Lisa

  16. Rebecca says:

    I love how versatile and different log cabin quilts can be!

  17. Jillian says:

    Love the mix of older and modern log cabin quilts. I love the history and feeling of camaraderie with the quilter’s ‘who have gone before me’ that I get with these older block designs. Thanks for the generous giveaway.

  18. theladybird says:

    I love how classic never goes out of style.

  19. chelsea says:

    I love old log cabin quilts and especially the lore attached to the block centers.

  20. windzgirl says:

    Both Quilt Index links aren’t working for me. I get a Page Not Found error. I would love to see it!

Leave a Reply

