Log Cabin Pattern Review + Giveaway Update

One thing we love about any good sewing book are the projects that we never would have thought up on our own.  This darling half-apron is made from an old pillowcase.  To save time, you’ll use the original hem from the pillowcase as the bottom hem of the apron.  A log cabin self-lined pocket adds graphic punch to the finished piece and gives you a spot to stash a little something.  The project is perfect for beginners, but it will definitely help to have a bit of practice under your belt.  A nice feature to all the patterns in this book is the “techniques used” section at the beginning of each pattern.  Before you get started, you can self-check to make sure you’re ready to tackle the project.  The pattern offers two different completed versions to give you inspiration in selecting your own fabric.  All in all, a very sweet project that will take just one afternoon.

GIVEAWAY UPDATE:
In response to the almost overwhelming comments we’ve received this week, we’ll be giving away two signed copies of Susan’s book.  Keep up the good commenting!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Log Cabin Pattern Review + Giveaway Update

  1. elsa says:

    love that apron! and thanks for Susan’s generosity to give away 2 books!

  2. Lisa says:

    Cute apron. Thanks for the giveaway.

  3. Rachel.db says:

    A friend of mine collect vintage aprons, and I’ve been wanting to make her a present for her collection. You’re right, I don’t reckon I would have thought to use a pillow case on my own either!

  4. Looks like a cool book! Can’t wait to see it!

  5. kelli says:

    What a cute apron! I’ll have to find a better class of thift store — I can never seem to locate cute linens like that pillowcase.

  6. Maggie says:

    What a wonderful book! It has already inspired me to try my hand at quilting again.
    When I was little, I made a skirt from an old pillowcase. An apron is very clever!
    I ♥ Cool Cottons!

  7. Marian says:

    I love the apron!!! Last summer, at an estate sale, I purchased several beautiful pillow cases that will be perfect for this project. Plus, I will be able to practice some quilt block squares for the pockets. How creative!!!

  8. Diane Alderman says:

    I ordered this book pre-publication and it is supposed to arrive today!! I can hardly wait! The cover quilt is what drew me…but that apron!! Wow!!

  9. Kari M. says:

    Adorable! And I agree with Kelli, Portland’s thrift stores seem pretty picked through by the time I get there. 🙂 Someday…

  10. Susan says:

    hi + thank you SO much for the awesome posts + comments about my book! I am so appreciative of the kind words 🙂

    Just wanted to mention (for those of us in Cool Cottons range) that I found that pillowcase I used to make the Vintage apron at Knittn Kitten on NE Glisan, in the vintage linens room. The other apron (for the Modern version) uses a basic, unembellished light-green cotton one you could pretty much find anywhere. I also found my Modern apron block pocket fabrics at Cool Cottons – they’re both Lizzy House!

    Thanks so much for the really wonderful week of log cabin posts. Love them all!!

    • Glenda says:

      Thanks for the heads-up about the Knittn Kitten… I found their website, and I will definitely check them out.

      I’ve been preoccupied with non-quilting projects, but just saw the announcement for your book on the website. It looks awesome, and I look forward to picking up a copy… (or winning one!).

  11. Marie says:

    Judging by the cover, her patterns are going to be gorgeous! Can’t wait to win one ;o)

  12. Joycelyn says:

    Love the darling apron! The log cabin pocket is a perfect addition.

  13. Lauren says:

    I am a first time sewer and just bought my first, yes, first Bernina!!! I love new projects and would love to make some of your beautiful creations!!! I agree, this apron is darling!! You can do so much with this log cabin pattern! Crossing my fingers!!!

  14. sally jo says:

    cool book, cool cottons, and really cool to think of giving away two of susan’s books. really generous!

  15. bethany says:

    Pretty apron. never thought about using pillow case as apron. clever idea with quilting project. I got interested in quilting thanks to modern quilts . Wanting to learn a piece of US culture as an immigrant.

  16. Adina says:

    What a lovely cover! I’m looking forward to seeing the inside!

  17. jil says:

    Inspiring me to go find some vintage, its quality is already there to work with..sort of built in charm.

  18. Pingback: MLCQ book tour – week 1! « Modern Log Cabin Quilting

  19. Pingback: MLCQ book tour – week 1! « West Coast Crafty

  20. Cruz says:

    Oh my, that quilt on the cover is gorgeous!

  21. sequink says:

    I heart aprons. What a great way to experiment with blocks and use a cool vintage pillowcase. I have a couple in the stash, but not sure if I’m quite ready to cut into them yet,…

  22. Ellen Ban says:

    Love that the book has more ideas than just quilts for using log cabins!

  23. wanda says:

    Can’t wait to see this book full of wonderful ideas –using log cabins!! Thanks for being so generous in giving this away!

  24. sharon says:

    I made a log cabin as one of my first quilts
    Making a more modern log cabin seems like a great idea

  25. GerryART says:

    I’m itching to get a copy of Susan’s log cabin book in my hands.
    I’m thinking wild, bright colors with perhaps some sort of a brown sashing.
    Thanks for the generosity.
    Hugs,
    Gerry

  26. SHERRYC says:

    I’m a beginner and need this book, sooo bad.

    Great apron…

    SherryC

  27. Jen S says:

    The news is traveling about this modern book on log cabin quilts all over the web!
    I’m new to quilting and I have an idea this book would help me learn some basic skills and have fun with it at the same time.

  28. katie says:

    Fun! a giveaway! And I’m reading so many great things about this book. It’s on my wish list now –thanks!

  29. Rebecca says:

    I love how many different things you make with repurposed pillowcases!

  30. robyn says:

    All of Susan’s books are awesome and this one (plus QfQ) may be just what it takes to get me to try a quilt on my own!

  31. Jillian says:

    What a great use of pillowcases! I use orphan blocks as pockets on bags I make, but never thought of it for an apron. Love having an excuse to buy some of those beautiful pillowcases that I see.

  32. Tara says:

    SO EXCITED about this book, and I love the posts on log cabin quilting! Thanks so much for the giveaway!

  33. Wendy says:

    I have this book on my wish list…

  34. KG says:

    I’m really excited to see this book in person. As someone who wants to improve her sewing in general, and take up quilting, this seems like the perfect gateway.

  35. windzgirl says:

    I love the idea of using quilt squares to embellish other items.

Leave a Reply

